Grand Marshal

Tanisha Wright

Tanisha Wright became a three-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year at Penn State and was named a First-Team USBWA All-American. She ranks fourth in school history for most points scored, scoring 1995 points over her 134 games with the Nittany Lions. Wright spent 10 years with the Storm, where she helped lead the team to nine straight playoff appearances and a WNBA Championship in 2010. In the WNBA, Wright played with the New York Liberty (2015-2016) and Minnesota Lynx (2018) and rejoined the Liberty in 2019 before announcing her retirement. Wright is entering her third season as head coach of the Atlanta Dream, boasting over 14 years of WNBA experience. In her first season, she led the team to 14 wins, a record for the best start to a coaching career in Dream history. Wright aims to foster player growth and integrity within the Dream while advocating combating housing insecurity, financial and economic empowerment, and bolstering causes that support binuclear family relations, guardianship, and extended caregivers.

Honorary Grand Marshal

Gregory Drane

Gregory Drane, originally from Miami, Florida, holds bachelor’s degrees in music education and music performance from Bethune-Cookman University. He earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in Music Education from Penn State. Dr. Drane currently serves as the director of the Marching Blue Band and Athletic Bands at Penn State. In this role, he oversees various aspects, including the Pride of the Lions pep bands for basketball, volleyball, and hockey. He is also involved in marching band design and instruction, conducts the Symphonic Band, and teaches music courses for non-majors. Dr. Drane’s research interests focus on Black American contributions to music education, leadership in the music classroom, and historical music ensembles, with his dissertation titled “The Navy Band B-1: The First All-Black Navy Band of World War II.”

Alumni Court

The Penn State Homecoming Alumni Court is a group of individuals who continue the legacy and traditions of Penn State post-grad. The selected court members will be honored throughout the week of Homecoming.  If you have any questions please feel free to email Alumni Relations Director at We Are!

Past Marshals

GM: David Taylor

HGM: Molly and Eric Barron

GM: John Colaneri

HGM: Brian Patchcoski

Alumni Panel featuring past Grand Marshals and Honorary Grand Marshals

GM: Farnoosh Torabi

HGM: Paul and Martha Sharkey

GM: Lisa Salters

HGM: Troy Alesi

GM: John Urschel

HGM: Scott Shirley

GM: Joel Myers

HGM: Raquel Ross

GM: Keegan-Michael Key

HGM: Ian Rosenberger

GM: Lara Spencer

HGM: Michael Paul

GM: John Amaechi

HGM: Anne Ard

GM: Terry and Kim Pegula

HGM: Mimi Barash Coppersmith

GM: Adam Taliaferro

HGM: Coquese Washington

GM: Allison Baver

HGM: Jeff Fisher

GM: Valeroe Plame Wilson

HGM: Rick Bryant

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!